Easy Lemon Drizzle Traybake (made with oil) .

lemon-drizzle-oil-final-edit

I often adapt cake recipes so they can be made with oil instead of solid fat so I can kid myself that it’s healthier and maybe it is. A bit. It’s definitely easier because you don’t have to cream the fat and sugar. In fact this recipe is a chuck-it-all-in-the-blender job, and it works a treat. It seems to be a favourite with quite a lot of people and is always the first to go at bake sales, I notice.

Ingredients

4 large eggs

275 ml/9 fl oz light, flavourless oil (I used groundnut oil)

10 oz self-raising flour

2 tsps baking powder

8 oz caster sugar

4 tbsps milk

Grated zest of two lemons

1 tsp vanilla essence

For the crunchy topping

Juice of two lemons

6 oz granulated sugar

Method

Grease and line a 9 x 12 inch (30cm x 23cm) shallow baking tray – or thereabouts, anyway. The leeway in baking times is to account for different sized baking trays. Bung all the ingredients into a blender, whizz them up and pour the resulting mixture into the prepared tin. Bake at 160 Celsius/Gas mark 3/325 Fahrenheit for 30 – 40 minutes, or until the cake has just set. Combine the lemon juice and granulated sugar for the topping in a small bowl and spoon over the tray bake when it’s been out of the oven for 5 minutes – any sooner and the syrup will just sink into the sponge and any later and it won’t adhere to the cake.

Easy peasey! Enjoy!

 

21 Comments

Filed under Recipes

21 responses to “Easy Lemon Drizzle Traybake (made with oil) .

  1. i love lemon flavoured cakes – where do you get the lemons from? are they grown in the uk or not? and are they included in CSA boxes?

    this looks like a syrup cake, like greek style desserts which are often steeped in syrup

  2. I’d quite like to make this cake, but I can’t see any method or ingredients? Am I missing something?

  3. Thanks! We’ll give it a whirl some time this weekend.

  4. The cake was indeed light, moist and delicious!

    It needed a lot longer in our oven and unfortunately P slammed the oven door the first time he checked it, so it was rather concave…prior to that it was rising beautifully.

  5. June Chan

    Hi Jo,
    I am June and a new member to your site. I really love to make this cake. If I do not have self-raising wholemeal flour and only have wholemeal flour, what should I add in? Thanks.

  6. Angela B

    I stumbled upon this cake recipe and decided to give it ago.I will definitely be saving it and making it again.it has a lovely texture and taste .i look foreward to seeing what other recipes you have 🙂

  7. Lila

    Im supper health conscious as well… my cake is currently in the oven however I substituted all sugar with Fructose – sweeter than sugar and low GI (comes from fruit) used wholemeal flour as stated in the recipe (milled from whole grain at home thanks to my Kitchen aid) and used only 100ml Raspeed oil as it has less saturated fat than groundnut or sunflower oil… tasted the raw dough mix it was yummy!!! and you can feel even less guilty about eating!! 🙂

    Thanks for posting!

    • I love to see people adapting recipes to their tastes! I’ve always said a recipe is an idea, not something that is set in stone. Hope your version was delicious!
      jo

  8. Krisztina

    Hey, I am not sure this should be labelled ‘healthy option’…It is better than making it from white flour or use butter….BUT according to my calculations this recipe has over 2800 calories, making one medium size muffin almost 200 calories each and that is a LOT…. I would definitely have to adjust this recipe and use sweetener and much less oil in order to ‘feel less guilty’ about eating it and follow the foot steps of Lila

    • Hi, I’m a little confused as this recipe is for a cake, not muffins? Also, the average chocolate bar has around 300 calories so 200 isn’t so bad, but that aside, ‘healthy’ refers less to calories in this recipe and more to using more wholesome ingredients.

  9. Pingback: Healthy Lemon Drizzle Cake Recipes « Healthfood Tips

  10. Looks delicious. I make a wholemeal coconut and lemon cake using xylitol instead of sugar. It’s a natural product, suitable for diabetics and it’s actually good for teeth. I make it in my breadmaker on cake cooking setting in a paper loaf liner.

Leave a Reply

