Roast Salsify with Ginger, Lemon, Honey & Butter

Salsify needs long, slow cooking to achieve softeness and caramelisation.

 Ingredients

1 lb salsify, peeled weight

4 oz piece of young ginger

Zest of 1 lemon

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp mustard powder

2 tbsp light oil

1 oz butter

1 tbsp honey

Method

Cut the salsify into 3 inch pieces and steam until they are beginning to soften a little. Meanwhile, peel the ginger and cut it into fine ribbons using a vegetable peeler. Take the zest off the lemon and combine all the ingredients except the butter and honey in a large bowl. Place in an oven-proof dish, cover with foil and bake on gas mark 3 for one hour. Remove the foil, turn the oven up to gas mark 4 and cook for a further 40 mins, turning once half way through. Finally, turn the butter and the honey through the salsify, coating all the pieces, and return to the oven for ten mins or until the salsify has caramelised.

Serves 4 -6 as part of a roast meal.

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes

8 responses to “Roast Salsify with Ginger, Lemon, Honey & Butter

  1. laura

    Loving the blog! Really nice and well done for perservering with the salsify – I had it the other day in a salad with mazzarella, raisons that had been soaked in a strong wine and a balsamic derssing…. it was OK, but it seems a big faff to cook for a flavour that isn’t all that if you know what I mean?!

    • I know exactly what you mean. I can see why it kind of lost out to carrots & parsnips in the popularity stakes, but seeing as it was in the veg box anyway I was loathe to waste it.
      jo

  2. I havent even heard of salsify before – and those roasted ‘sticks’ look divine – better than potatoes!

    I’m looking up salsify right now…

  3. Let me know if you find it in Greece!
    jo

  4. I just picked up some salsify and I am going to try this tomorrow as I too am unfamiliar with this vegetable!

    E.A.T.

  5. Pingback: The Amazing Health Benefits of Black Salsify Root

  6. clare

    Sounds delicious! Do you think it’d work in a slow cooker? I think I’ll give it a go as the last veg. delivery landed me, also, with 2 kilos of “sticks” I’d never seen before!!

Leave a Reply

