10 Hour Pot Roast Beef with Red Wine, Coffee & Cinnamon

Pot roast beef has long been a traditional favourite but I love to play around with the flavours. Adding red wine to a pot roast recipe is quite common but coffee and cinnamon less so.It may seem a slightly incongruent combination but I assure you the long, slow cooking marries them together in a sensational way. I first encountered the beef and cinnamon combination at the Boisdale in Belgravia. It was a family celebration meal and, true to form, I had ordered a steak so rare a good vet could have bought it back to life, but two of my sister-in-laws had ordered the cottage pie. They insisted it was so delicious that I must taste it, so I did, and instantly recognised cinnamon in with the beef. It worked beautifully and I have been experimenting with the combination ever since but this is the most spectacular dish so far; the slow cooking is the key.  I cannot enthuse enough about the way the cooking liquor for this dish tastes and the resulting gravy it makes.

Ingredients

1 1/2 – 2lb piece of braising beef

2 carrots

2 onions

4 cloves garlic

300ml/1/2 pint each of  coffee & red wine

I cinnamon stick (or 1 tbsp cinnamon bark pieces)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tsp good salt

2 tbsp molasses sugar

Couple of bay leaves

Method

Sear the beef on all sides in a heavy based frying pan in a little oil. In the same pan brown the stock vegetables. Place the meat and the vegetables in a slow cooker or in an oven proof dish. Heat the wine, coffee, brown sugar, salt, ground cinnamon and cinnamon bark until it comes to the boil. Pour it over the beef and stock vegetables and add boiling water until the meat is covered. Slow cook the dish for 10 hours either in a slow cooker or the lowest heat in the oven until the meat is butter soft. Gently lift the meat out with a slotted spoon and strain the stock vegetables out of the cooking liquor. Reduce the liquor until there is enough to serve four people and thicken with arrowroot. Do not use Bisto, it will make it too salty. Serve with enormous Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and lots of lovely vegetables.

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “10 Hour Pot Roast Beef with Red Wine, Coffee & Cinnamon

  1. Kathy Hester (geekypoet)

    I love my slow cooker! I have a bunch of healthy slow cooker recipes that I post on my blog if you’re interested. (http://healthyslowcooking.wordpress.com)

  2. Brianne Pankratz

    The photo is wildly different than our result! This savory dish was truly comfort food, & its richness is well-suited for an annual tradition (read: too flavorful to enjoy on a regular basis).

  3. In what way was your version different, Brianne? Glad you enjoyed it, however it looked.
    jo x

  4. TOm

    While searching the web for an alternative pot roast recipe, thankfully, I managed to stumble upon your blog. Quite frankly, the coffee is what initially interested me as I have used it in several other dishes. I wasn’t sure what to make of the cinnamon but knew I had to give it a try. Sure glad I did!

    The following description is how I prepared the parts of the dish I was not completely clear on:

    Not knowing what “braising beef” was, I used a very lean 2 pound sirloin roast I found at a local market. I browned it on all sides in some olive oil with a light seasoning of sea salt and freshly ground pepper. I then browned red onions, minced garlic, and diced carrots in the remaining juices. Unfortunately, my very old jar of molasses was completely glued shut so, rather than panic, I opted to use some granulated brown sugar I had on hand. I used a fairly decent Cabernet Sauvignon, which we enjoyed the rest of during dinner, and very strong “Starbucks” coffee as I wasn’t sure the wine type or coffee strength recommended. I also made a fairly major modification which I normally don’t do when trying new recipes. I added half organic beef stock and half water to cover the roast once all of the other ingredients were in the slow cooker. I did so due to the sirloin being so lean and most pot roast recipes calling for a fattier cuts. I hope I didn’t ruin your dish but the results were absolutely fabulous. I plan to make it again and often. Thanks for sharing, good luck with your charities and would appreciate any comments you have.

    Tom

  5. WOW! That sounds like you did the recipe proud! It’s a cold, grey, grim day in London and this is exactly the sort of thing I want to eat today.
    jo

Leave a Reply

