Copy Cat Indian Mussels

 

I love trying to re-create dishes I have eaten in restaurants at home. Some are harder than others. The mussels I ate at Veeraswamy is one such dish. The spicing was so subtle yet so aromatic that it has taken a few attempts to replicate it. I would have asked the waiter how to make them but seeing as he had already told me what was in the Green Prawns I thought it might be pushing it slightly. It has been worth the trial and error, because even the ‘errors’ have been delicious, just not the facsimile of the dish my palate remembers. Now I have – in my opinion – reproduced the dish I may never cook the exact same recipe again but rather take the lessons I learned during the process, i.e. how to dispatch a coconut and to hold back on the spices. My  version of the dish does differ in one very noticeable way; the portion is larger! This dish does take a while and involves a few processes but it’s worth the effort. It makes a luxury starter from a very cheap ingredient (mussels) and introduces something exotic and different to the table (coconut). Most of the work can be done in advance which means, in reality, it’s a good dinner party dish. And an impressive one, in my opinion.

 Ingredients

1/2  kilo mussels

½ inch ginger, finely sliced

1 green chilli, deseeded and roughly chopped

1 tbsp butter

Juice of one small coconut

½ tsp turmeric

Good pinch cumin

Good pinch salt

Handful coriander stalks

1 tbsp creamed coconut

2 tbsp fresh coconut, grated

Handful coriander plus some leaves to serve

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

