Brown Rice Sushi

When I started this blog a very dear friend of mine asked me to do a post about making sushi so she could make it herself, which is a complete lie because she never makes any of the things she asks for the recipe for. That aside, quick as a flash, a year later, here is that recipe.

Why brown rice? Well, because although I’ve always liked sushi it’s always bothered me that it’s mostly made with white rice, which just isn’t that healthy. Then one day I saw brown rice sushi in Waitrose and thought, aha, so you can have a healthier version of sushi. Through trial and error and lots of swearing I have worked out how to make this brown rice sushi and it’s not actually that hard.

The are two tricks to making brown rice sushi rolls and they are to make the rice sticky enough to hold together and to roll firmly and tightly. I used rice which I bought in Planet Organic labelled as brown risotto rice but I believe any short grain brown rice would work. I’ve yet to try it with brown basmati rice but somehow I just don’t think it would stick together.

Before you start making the sushi rolls you need to get everything assembled along with a bowl of water for dipping your fingers in. I’ll tell you why in a moment. I made this batch with vegetarian ingredients because they were for  weekday lunch boxes and I try to stick to vegetarian food during the week and only eat meat at weekends. There is no reason why you can’t put fish in them, though. Just make sure it’s scrupulously fresh and preferably organic. There are lots of other filling options like avocado, chinese omelette, mushroom – whatever takes your fancy.

I’ll start with the method and give ingredients last. Cook the rice in the usual way, i.e. a 2:1 ratio. When the rice is just cooked that’s when you get in there with your vinegar and your soy sauce and start turning it over and over, mixing the vinegar/soy thoroughly through the rice but also getting the rice to release it’s starch and become sticky. This is what will ensure the sushi comes together and holds together. Once the rice is feeling nice and gluey put the lid back on and allow it to cool completely. While you’re waiting, chop up or otherwise prepare your fillings and lay them out.

Place one square of nori on your rolling mat, shiny side down. Use a quarter of the rice and spread it out on the two thirds of the square nearest to your body. Wet your fingers to stop the rice sticking to them and don’t take the rice right to the very edges, leave a small gap instead. Be patient and re-wet your fingers if you have to. Try to get the rice in a nice, even layer as this will help when you come to roll it up. Then place a small selection of your fillings slightly off centre – a tad nearer to you than not – and prepare to roll!

This may take a bit of practise or you may get it straight off but I’ll do my best to describe how it’s done (by the way, if you can make a decent roll up it’s the same principle). Pick up the end of the rolling mat nearest to you. Your thumbs should be behind the mat and all your fingers should be free to tuck and guide and tighten the sushi roll. Do it slowly, you can’t rush this – tuck everything under at the end nearest to you and start to take your end of the rolling mat over. Keep it tight against the roll. Appy enough pressure with your thumbs to make the roll tight but not so much pressure that you burst the nori. Keep tucking in as you go and gathering up the slack of mat with your thumbs. Get your head right over the mat and keep an eye on what’s going on so you can see if anything is escaping or it’s not rolling evenly.

When you about to come to the end, wet your fingers and run them along the far edge of the nori to seal the roll. Once it’s rolled you may find it ‘s not completely round but that’s fine because you can use the mat to gently reshape. You will find the roll is surprisingly sturdy. There will be a section at each end that is not filled properly and can’t really be served. This is inevitable but the good news is, they yours; chef’s perks. To cut the rolls into slices you will need an extremely sharp knife which needs to be wet so there’s a lot of wiping and re-wetting to do but it’s worth it. Serve with wasabi, soy and pickled ginger.

Ingredients

1 cup short grain brown rice

2 cups water

5 tbsps rice wine vinegar (or failing that cider vinegar)

2 tbps soy

4 sheets nori (seaweed) – available from Chinese supermarkets or online

Fillings of your choice

Soy sauce, pickled ginger and wasabi to serve.

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes

11 responses to “Brown Rice Sushi

  1. brown rice is still not too popular here in greece – i think it’s the cooking time that bothers me the most

    i love sushi – these look so colourful

  2. I never eat white rice or white bread/pasta/pastry/noodles, etc because they are so nutrient deficient. It just seems crazy to me that we take a wholegrain, strip away the part with all the nutrients in it and eat the bit that’s left! xx

    • Lynette

      Wow you are a very wise woman. By changing our diet to wholegrains my husband lost 20kgs and looks younger and has more energy. Who wants cancer, heart disease, diabetes etc? Its up to us to research better food choices and introduce them gradually. The palette does change its enjoyable eating the new way too. We hardly eat sugar now but we so love eating 80% cocoa chocolate bars often!!!

  3. Shannyn

    Hi! I made my first ever sushi with this recipe! I googled how to make sushi with brown rice rather than white as we all know it is much healthier for us. I was surprised to see that the brown rice does actually get gluggy/gluey and is perfect for rolling!!
    Thanks to your tutorial I actually succeeded and I cant wait until I can try a variety of fillings out =D
    Thanks!!

  4. Very informative post…thank you. I’ve made my own in the past and your instructions are right on. I found your page from a “brown rice sushi” google and will start making my own again since I can’t get the sushi shops around me to use brown rice (too expensive, they say). :)

  5. I tried this recipe – thanks for posting.

    Next time I do it, though, I’ll try cutting the rice wine vinegar in half (bit too strong for my taste).

    Cheers from New Zealand :)

  6. I tried it too and it turned out great! You can see my attempt here: http://vegheadsimone.com/2013/03/30/vegan-brown-rice-sushi/

  7. Hi there excellent website! Does running a blog similar
    to this take a massive amount work? I’ve virtually no knowledge of coding but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I simply needed to ask. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

